A short getaway in an historical town

After few months of posts about Seoul, I’ll finally be dropping a post about a place in my home country, Malacca.

Eventually it grew into an important port between trading ships.

Malacca is located south east of Kuala Lumpur, founded by Parameswara around year 1400, at the Straits of Malacca which was accessible throughout the year. Eventually it grew into an important port between trading ships that became the main reason triggering wars between the Portugis, Dutch and British.

Last month, me and 2 of my friends decided to head down to Malacca after work on Saturday and we started our journey by car at 6.40pm, it was a smooth journey, no traffic jams nor any bad weather. Approximately 2 hours later, we arrived and check in at Hallmark Inn Hotel. It was a little hard to find the hotel, trusted Waze but it seems to bring us to no where.

A couple of rounds at that area, with growling stomach eagerly waiting for food, we made a call to the hotel and was told that it’s at Jalan Bungaraya Pantai, right in front after AIA building on your left. Gosh I really hate Waze.

Anyway, for a mere USD 21 room, it’s pretty comfy and the ambiance was not too bad, most importantly the bathroom, at least it doesn’t makes me feels like running away and I can do my business comfortably. Toiletries were complete, even came with a toothbrush and toothpaste! Oh, did I mention it has bidet as well?

DSC_2550

DSC_2562

DSC_2547

DSC_2565

Unloaded our bags, we went out to hunt for food, it’s already 10pm and yet we have not taken anything. Feeling tormented. There were so many local cuisines in this small town, especially Nyonya food. Not too long later, ok, I admit it took us way too long to realized that the place we were looking for, the UNKNOWN place, was nowhere to be found.

DSC_2534

The only shot I took right after we came out from the hotel, but it’s blurry…

Ended up walking blindly for a whole 3 hours, my feet starting to sore, my stomach no longer feels hungry and I was sweating profusely from all those walking. Physically and mentally exhausted, how I wish that I’m back at the hotel at that very moment. Finally we found a bunch of tricycles and decided to hire them for a price of RM30, 2 seaters. I just couldn’t continue walking anymore.

Anyway, you’ve got to love these tricycles nowadays, decorated with Hello Kitty plushie at the front, while at the back, there’s a set of huge speakers and started to blast crazy songs while you ride on it. Seriously, I felt a little embarrassed. I’m not a fan of Hello Kitties, nor I like loud noises, moreover it’s already 1am in the midnight! I kept thinking someone from upstairs shouting and pouring water onto us. Definitely wanted to find a place to hide myself.

Without any side mirror, road crossing was way too dangerous in my opinion. Without looking at the traffics, they crossed and expect the car drivers to avoid them. It nearly gave me an heart attack.

Half an hour later we managed to make it back to the hotel, and drove out for our dinner at 2am. Crazy right? Without thinking much, me and my bestie ordered Bak Kut Teh to warm our poor little stomach. Broiled with different kinds of herbs, added in with some pork, mushrooms and veges and ready to be served. The soup wasn’t that good at first, but after every sip, it makes you want to have more. Too hungry? I guess I am. The taste was light but the fragrance of the herbs were overwhelming, filling my taste buds in a matter of seconds while the warm soup makes me feel refreshed and energized, indeed what I need after that long long long walk.

DSC_2540

One thought on “A short getaway in an historical town

  1. Pingback: Old faithful town of Malacca | Journey Forgotten

Leave a Reply

