White-out at Nami Island

This was my third time visiting the tourist-packed Nami Island, which is well known for its wintry white scenery! If you were to read my previous blog post, I have already been there twice during autumn, and it’s definitely a very huge difference when most of the trees became leave-less and everything became white.

Being a guide during this trip, my family were asking me why have I not bring them to Nami Island. But little did they know, I was waiting for the correct time and moment. What would it be? A snowfall, of course!

DSC_3003

Although weather forecast are quite accurate 2 or 3 days before the actual day, but a snowfall can be very much unpredictable, it could just snow out of a sudden or not! You’d never know! After confirming that it will snow, I made the plan to visit the island the next day and it snowed the whole day. Definitely worth a little wait.

To be honest, it’s my first time being a guide, although they are my family, I am still afraid that I will get lost somewhere. Anyhow, they easiest way to reach the island on your own is always the ITX train. Once again, we bought the tickets from Cheonnyangni Station (adult 4,000 won / child 2,000 won) and board the train to Gapyeong.

Camera 360

Follow platform 1 or 2 if you are heading to Gapyeong.

wpid-20150118_133434.jpg

Just select the number of persons, time, station that you will be going to (for Nami Island, it will be Gapyeong station) and pay the total amount that will be shown on the screen. Remember to “tap out” your T-money if you’ve used it to head to Cheongnyanni or Yongsan station (machine just beside the ticket vending machine).

It was already snowing at the time we arrived Gapyeong Station. Since I was from a tropical country with just only 1 season throughout the year, it was quite exciting to see snow piling up on the ground.

However, it feels like I was forcing myself out of the station. Stepping out from there is like heading into a giant freezer, it was terribly cold. I have 4 long sleeved layers on me (1 cotton shirt, 1 light wool shirt, 1 knitted sweater and the winter coat), but after getting used to the cold, it feels much better except for my hands which almost turned numb.

DON’T even wear winter leggings in this kinda weather, unless you have a layer of heat tech on the inside, else you won’t be able to enjoy your winter sonata experience when you’re busy keeping yourself warm.

wpid-20141215_112628.jpg

wpid-20141215_112640.jpg

We caught a taxi outside of Gapyeong station, which supposedly only cost 3,000 won, but the driver charged us extra 200 won. A new lesson learnt, always check the taxi meter when you get on.

Upon arriving the jetty, the sight that greeted us looks cold and freezy yet it was breathtaking, it was so cold that most of the water became frozen. I felt that my pictures did not do justice to that beautiful place.

DSC_2898

DSC_2902

DSC_2904

DSC_2929

DSC_2925

The lonely panda waiting for a train that would never come.

DSC_2946

DSC_2939

Snow fall became more intense and most places became white in a short while. It was rather irritating to me since I was carrying my cameras and stuffs. And since it’s my first winter experience, I didn’t know that I would need something to cover up my camera (I thought snow wouldn’t melt that easily!).

Maybe I should carry an umbrella? Nope, imagine holding a DSLR in your hands when you need to focus your lens while holding the umbrella.

Second lesson learnt.

DSC_2995

DSC_2973

DSC_3024

During the cold seasons, people flock to this stall that sells steamed red bean bun. It only cost 1,000 won each and when you have it in your hands, especially in the winter, it just feels so warm and nice! Imagine your freezing numbed hands have something hot to hold on to. Not only that, it taste good too!

DSC_2987

A stall selling hot steamed bun..

DSC_3075

DSC_3061

As I have said earlier, everything just looks different when the place is blooming with colors and when it was covered totally in white. Here are some pictures taken during my trip in the autumn and some during in the winter. You be the judge and say which one looks better. As for me, I would say both have its own charm.

DSC_3087

DSC_1375

DSC_3037

DSC_3092

wpid-dsc_1356_1.jpg

And here are few more pictures taken during this trip..

wpid-pict_20141215_153003.jpg

wpid-pict_20141215_151846.jpg

wpid-pict_20141215_125038.jpg

This fire pit is heaven!

wpid-20141215_145544.jpg

Failed snowman attempt.

Do you know there is one cute little restaurant selling lunch boxes on Nami Island? If you have yet to try the food here, I’d highly recommend you to this place. They called it fried rice, but I would rather call it “shake-it-to-mix-it-rice”. Put on the glove and start shaking the lunch box until everything is all well mixed up, and bon apetite!

wpid-c360_2013-10-21-15-32-18-021.jpg

wpid-c360_2013-10-21-15-32-54-981.jpg

wpid-c360_2013-10-21-15-34-44-670.jpg

wpid-c360_2013-10-21-15-36-19-981.jpg

wpid-20141215_140802.jpg

While having lunch break with my family, we updated our own personal social network accounts using the rented wifi device from Wifi-Korea. Strong signal even in Nami Island, just spot the middle icon to believe. And that was how I made my friends jealous of the sights I was looking at that moment while they were sweating at their end. It’s Malaysia!

wpid-pict_20141215_141215.jpg

At the end of the day, see how much snow had fallen during that few hours! Here’s a before and after shot basically at the same spot, just from a different angle.

wpid-pict_20141215_115847.jpg

wpid-20141215_161320.jpg

And last but not least, our family portrait..

wpid-20141215_151720.jpg

Have you been to Nami Island before, and when was that? I would definitely want to visit again during Spring and Summer too.

5 thoughts on “White-out at Nami Island

  1. Pingback: Places to include in your Seoul itinerary | An Introvert in Seoul

Leave a Reply

